Results CITCO Grand Prix 2008

What a finish to the 2008 CITCO Grand Prix season! (See leaderboard for final placings).

The short tree lined front nine circuit of Grand Ducal was the host of the 10th and final Citco Grand Prix of the 2008 season.

Nick Montague (in the Mizuno) took pole position and wore the yellow jersey, after a very nervous start he recovered to score 15 points. Botfield (in the Titleist), also on the front row, spun off at the first corner, and weakly limped round in 10 points. Ian Doherty, third on the grid, with some fatherly help managed a disappointing 12 points! Father did better!

The podium beckoned for the challenging pack;
Dennis Robertson never fully recovered from Round 8, and did not start in round 9 or 10.
Steve Brown never recovered after the German Grand Prix in round 5, mechanical problems have persisted since then and he trundled in with 11 points.
Craig Ferreira (in the Left hand drive) had the powerful engine, but poor gear changes caused him to pull up with 11 points.
Jonathan Hill (in the Golf GTI) threatened, but was always a little short and his 14 points never troubled the podium.

All the contenders failed to pick up enough points to dislodge the top three, Nick is the 2008 Champion, Alan the runner up, and Ian takes third place.

On the night
Nathan scored 18 points, would have won, but left the pits with a bird, a Tony Nightingale in fact, who scored a creditable 16 points. With these two now out of the picture, the prizes were presented as follows:

1st Luc (de sponsor) Vet (17 points)
2nd Stuart (starter) Rowlands (17 points)
3rd Nick (champion) Montague (15 points)

Long Drive – Mervey (2007 champion)
Nearest the Pin – 2008 Champion, Nick Montague

Best Guest – Willem can Rooyen (22 points)
Worst score – Neil Underwood (3 points)

SHRM Matchplay
In SHRM Matchplay Ayzo van Eysinga beat Alan Botfield 1 up – neither player mastered the conditions, but Ayzo hung on…

Congratulations to all prize winners !

Individuals event and FROGs dinner will be arranged shortly – keep checking your e-mails and the web site !!!!

Penultimate CITCO event 2008

T’was a splendid evening. Dave Winters hammered his poor golf ball(s) into submission, and despite over friendly scoring, his 18 pts was too good for everyone else. Tony Nightingale, a fine sportsman in his day, hit 17 pts to take second place, with Frank Maitry managing 3rd on 16 pts. Halldor Magnusson hit a huge long drive on the 6th, and then the nearest pin on the 7th, well done the prize winners and thanks to Paul Goes for starting us all off !

Next week is the final Grand Prix event, please e-mail STUART ROWLANDS if you wish to play, venue is the Grand Ducal, on Thursday 28th August. We have to limit the number of guests to sponsors and players like Ernest who play more often than the rest of us….the starter should not need night vision goggles, so please play “ready golf” ! The meal has been arranged by Steve K.

The S-HRM Matchplay final will also take place on this evening, Andrew Paton has fallen off the planet (Italian Golf and Mafia Club connections are not talking)…meaning Ayzo van Eysinga will walk into the final against Alan Botfield, who conquered Merve (the 2007 CITCO Grand Prix Champion).

Only three moves were made in the CITCO GRAND PRIX which is boiling over as expected;
Nick Montague added another point to reach 82.
Alan Botfield moves up 3 pts to 80.
Ian Doherty remains on 79.
Steve B and Dennis stay on 78.
Craig (AKK) adds a point to 77.
Jonny Hill remains on 76.

Full details on the leaderboard

Can anyone else catch the lead group in the home straight????