Results of CITCO Grand Prix round 1 – Kikuoka – 23 April 2014

Last Wednesday saw an excellent start to the new FROGS season, with the sun shining down on 36 Frogs and guests….for most of the evening at least. Our starters James King & Andrew Paton brought home the rear-guard under torchlight. Thank you both for your efforts, and for the refreshments on the 1st.

Round 1 of the CITCO Grand Prix was hotly contested, at both ends of the scoring spectrum. Gerry Mullen pipped Ayzo Van Eysinga on count-back for 4thplace, with 16pts. Count-back was also needed to decide 2nd & 3rd place, with John Brophy’s better closing edging him ahead of James King. Both scored 19 pts … or so we said on the night! A stewards enquiry highlighted a handicap error in the database. An additional 0.1 of a shot for James jumps him to 20pts & in contention for the title … but unfortunately looses again on count-back. Overall honors on the night went to Derek Sinclair. A near perfect round saw him get around in 37 shots, bring home a +1 over par & 20 points. New FROGS shirt, matchplay win, CICTO Grand Prix leader, Facebook update posted – good job Sir!

Mike Lowe put in a solid performance to bring home one more point than Arnaud Bouteiller’s 15pts, to bag theBest Guest prize.

With Bernard’s retirement, there were many eager contenders to claim rebranding rights for the Pink Ball title. Colin Fraser was determined to win as many categories as he could on the night & did his best with 5pts. Hoppy trumped him with an impressive 4pt, but their efforts proved in vain. Francis ‘you can run but you cannot hide’ Parisis claimed the first pink ball of the season with 3pts. Don’t worry Francis, it is being kept warm and safe for you to use to hit off the first teebox at the next CITCO event, however many shots that takes!

Arnaud Bouteiller’s ball is still smoking after that monster effort on the 2nd which has bagged him bragging rights for the Longest Drive on the night, but being a guest had to be content with receiving the applause*.
Colin Fraser temporarily broke with his form on the night, and struck the sweetest of shot on the 7th, giving him the NTP.

* For future events, as a guest cannot win the longest drive or NTP, they should not record their fine shot or move the marker. The FROGS member inviting or playing with the guest should make them aware if this happens.

Standard Scratch was 13pts on the night. The full leader-board is posted on the web-site.

Thanks again to our sponsor CITCO.

SHRM Matchplay
We also saw a flurry of activity on the SHRM Matchplay last night.
Duncan Tippin beat Francis Parisis – 5&4,
Delboy beat Frank Maitry – 4&2,
Andrew Paton beat Steve Brown – 5&3,
Tony Nightingale beat Nick Montague with a walkover, and
Graham Paul, being the only one who wanted to put up a fight, lost out to Simon Baker – 2&1

The remainder of the preliminary rounds are to be played on or before 7th May.

Thanks again to our sponsor SHRM.

I am sure many of you have already volunteered to act as starter, but please check the e-mail address & resend as Andrew has not received your messages. We need starters for the next events. If you have not performed starter duties last year, please consider when you could do so this year.

Those of you who made it on the night will all be in possession of this seasons fine FROGS shirt, moving from last years Dutch colors’ to something more Celtic.

Last piece of housekeeping is to remind everyone that subscriptions are past due. The rumored naming & shaming is much less of a concern than the other whispers of defaulters not qualifying for a well deserved prize!!!

The next CITCO Grand Prix event is on Wednesday May 7th, at Preisch

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.